The Belief-O-Matic

Saturday, January 31, 2009

Earlier I posted a quiz to determine what kind of Christian you might be.  Now I have discovered a broader quiz that might apply to more people: What religion do you fit in with?  It’s called the Belief-O-Matic, created at Beliefnet.com.  Check it out!

Some of the questions are a little hard to follow, and a little theological savvy helps (like knowing the precise meaning of “essence,” etc.).

Interestingly, I scored a 100% as an Orthodox Quaker.  That’s news to me; I probably scored close to them because of the way I answered their social issues questions.  Rounding out the top 6:

2) mainline to conservative Christian/Protestant (94%–that’s a relief; after all, that’s what I am);

3) mainline to liberal Christian Protestant (86%);

4) Eastern Orthodox (84%);

5) Roman Catholic (84%); and

6) Seventh Day Adventist (82%).

After those 6, my matches drop off quite a bit.  Thankfully, and no offense intended to Tom Cruise, my bottom match was Scientology (15%).

3 thoughts on “The Belief-O-Matic

  1. 1. Mainline to Conservative Christian/Protestant (100%)
    2. Seventh Day Adventist (92%)
    3. Eastern Orthodox (88%)
    4. Roman Catholic (88%)
    5. Orthodox Quaker (86%)
    6. Mainline to Liberal Christian Protestants (62%)

Leave a Reply

